Search Icon

Freedom to breathe event: A child’s right to clean air

 

Join us for this special event supporting thousands of children calling on the UNCRC to acknowledge their right to clean air.

 

We at the Freedom to breathe campaign have the pleasure to invite you to the Child’s Right to Clean Air virtual 60-minute meeting on 16 November 2021 at: 

London 15:00-16:00 GMT/ Stockholm 16:00-17:00/ Yaoundé 16:00-17:00/
Los Angeles 07.00-08.00/ Delhi 20.30-21.30/ Beijing 23.00-00.00 

 

 

About this event 

Clean air is vital to children’s physical and mental development and ability to fulfil their potential. By 2050, UNICEF predicts that air pollution will become the leading cause of child mortality yet, clean air is not recognized as a right under the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. 

 

Thousands of children worldwide are now campaigning for the UNCRC to recognize their right to clean air. We invite those who support our cause to join us. 

 

The Freedom to breathe campaign is coordinated by civil society groups in China, India, the US and UK, in partnership with Blueair. Read our White Paper: A child’s right to clean air, outlining why it should be a priority for children, universally, to breathe clean air. 

 

We look forward to you joining us for this important event on how to better realise and support a child’s right to clean air.

 

 

Agenda

 

15:00 GMT/ 16:00 CET/ 07:00 PST/ 20:30 IST/ 23:00 BST: Event starts, welcome from event hosts and introduction to the Freedom to breathe campaign.

 

  • Hear children's pre-recorded testimonies from around the world calling for the UNCRC to acknowledge their right to clean air.
     Professor Ed Avol talks about the child health-specific impacts of air pollution.
    Sherebanu Frosh from Warrior Moms, talks about ways of supporting children in the fight for clean air.
    Rosamund Kissi-Debrah talks about losing her daughter Ella to air pollution-induced asthma, and the importance of child rights.
  • Mr Philip D. Jaffé, talks about the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, how it works, and his response to the children’s call for a right to clean air.
    Young people’s question-time, drawing on questions from the chat.

 

16:00 GMT/ 17:00 CET/ 08:00 PST/ 21:30 IST/ 00:00 BST: End of event.