Search Icon






 The Sustainable City Awards are celebrating the “power of the people” in creating sustainable ways of living for Londoners. 


Nominations are now closed.


Celebrating London’s unsung heroes, the awards will recognise individuals and organisations who have thought big and developed imaginative solutions and approaches to help Londoners from all backgrounds live, work and spend their leisure time in ways that are good for health, wealth and the planet. 


This extraordinary and challenging year has provided some silver linings in the form of inspiring stories of sustainable living. We’ve heard about families taking part in activities that have benefited both people and planet in lockdown; cycling together along quieter, cleaner streets, shopping locally and in some city estates, using pollinator-friendly planting kits.    

This year, the Sustainable City Awards will celebrate the hugely diverse and inspirational ways in which schools, local authorities and voluntary organisations in London have turned the COVID-19 crisis into an opportunity to build back better, adapting to the needs in their communities by creating new tailor-made solutions to deliver impact from sparking collective action. 


Now in their 20th year but coordinated for the first time by Global Action Plan - an environmental charity expert in bringing people and organisations together around a common cause - the Sustainable City Awards will culminate with a virtual learning and award ceremony in Spring 2021.  

The awards were founded by the City of London corporation and previously managed by London Sustainability Exchange (LSx), which merged with Global Action Plan in 2019. The individual changemaker award in the Community and Voluntary Sector category is named in memory of the former LSx Chief Executive, Samantha Heath

Jenette Arnold standing in front of a brick wall

“I’m delighted that the Sustainable City Awards are back for 2021 and I’m looking forward to meeting the recipient of the very first Changemaker Award, which honours the outstanding contribution made by Samantha Heath to making London a more sustainable city.”  

Jennette Arnold, Trustee & Former Chair of LSx

Working with awards partners the Mayor of London and LEDNet (London Environment Directors' Network, the membership network for London's Environment Directors), the Sustainable City Awards will be especially looking to celebrate and amplify the many great examples of action led or involving culturally diverse and under-privileged communities to advance racial, social and environmental justice.   

Sustainable City Awards logo
Supported by Mayor of London
London Environment Directors
Investec home page

*In the case of School Changemaker of the Year and Community & Voluntary Changemaker of the Year, the individual winner will nominate a school or charity of their choice to receive the funding. The funding is not transferable to an individual. Full terms and conditions

Pandemic permitting, we also plan to celebrate the winners at an in-person reception in London in 2021. 


In the longer term, the Sustainable City Awards will: 

  • galvanise efforts to drive forward sustainability in London, creating a sense of shared endeavour and reinforcing the idea that the actions of single individuals and organisations do count and can make a difference 
  • inspire London’s local authorities, public services, businesses, and communities to replicate great initiatives and campaigns 
  • connect organisations and individuals who represent disadvantaged communities  
  • Increase the profile and practical support for shortlisted and winning individuals and organisations, helping to propel them to greater success. 

Sustainable City Awards Judges


Rachel Musson, Director, Thoughtbox Education

Edd Moore, Teacher, Damers First School

Olly Offord, Policy and Project Officer, Team London

Clover Hogan, Founder & Executive Director, Force of Nature

Ajay Sharman, Regional network lead for STEM learning (London & South East).

Aardash (Student Judge), GAP Youth Ambassador

Advait (Student Judge), Schools Eco Network member

Maezie (Student Judge), GAP Youth Ambassador

Amy (Student Judge), Founder, Another Way

Dr Emily Grossman, Science Communicator

Henry Greenwood, Managing Director, Green Schools Project

Lorraine Larman, Managing Director, Safety Solutions and member of Worshipful Company of Environmental Cleaners Education committee

Victoria Lawson, Executive Director of Environment, Culture and Customer Services at LB Hounslow &Chair London Environment Directors Network

Caroline Russell AM, Assembly Member, Greater London Authority

Tony Leach, CEO, Parks for London

Jeremy Leach, Chair, London Living Streets

Dr Afsheen Rashid MBE, CoCEO, Repowering London

David Weatherall, Director, Future Climate

Professor Sarah Bell, City of Melbourne Chair in Urban Resilience and Innovation, University of Melbourne


Simon Gilby, Principal Policy & Projects Officer, London Councils

Ruth Calderwood, Air Quality Manager, City of London Corporation

Nick Martin, Head of Sustainability and Environmental Management, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children Foundation Trust

Katharine Langford, Programme Director - Health Effects of Air Pollution at Guy's and St Thomas'​ Charity

Bindi Patel, Head of Customer Experience, Vattenfall Heat UK

Elizabeth Balgobin, Interim Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion at Institute of Fundraising Consultancy

Syed Ahmed, Director, Energy for London

Mark Varney, Sustainability and Charity Leader, formerly of Fareshare UK

Mittal Kothari, Head of Global Strategy, envoPAP

Jennette Arnold OBE AM, Assembly Member, Greater London Authority

Elizabeth Littlewood, Head of Brand and Communications, Phillips

Nick Gardner, Head of Climate Action, National Lottery Community Fund

Christopher Hook, Head of Vehicles and Clean Air Lead, Uber

Colin Crooks, CEO, Tree Shepherd

Scott Butler, Executive Director, Material Focus


Find out more about previous Sustainable City Awards